Giving Up Technology…

Today Act #22 is about giving up technology, get off facebook, switch off the screens, unplug the computer (does anyone still have a computer), leave your phone behind.  

I know because facebook told me.   I opened my emails to read more and to read the ‘devotional/thought’ with today’s Act.  Okay, failed.  I wasn’t the only one to notice the irony of this.

I know a few friends who have given up facebook for Lent.  Who fast twitter or snapchat.  And yes I know I can waste a whole load of my time on any of my little social network things – instagram, pintrest, email and facebook and a coffee and I’m ready for the day!  But it also kind of gets on my nerves, in fact this focus on ‘bad’ in technology doesn’t just kind of get on my nerves, it REALLY gets on my nerves.

You see, living overseas I am connected to people all over the world.  I share their lives and they share my life through facebook, or a photo.  It was awesome to see photos of my aunt and uncle from Australia who I haven’t seen for over ten years on their holidays.  I was able to send an encouraging letter to my old pastor, who I haven’t seen for 18 years through email.  I chatted to a friend in Africa this morning and we laughed and encouraged and shared life with each other.  I had an email from a friend who needed prayer.  I read a blog from a friend who is facing a challenging time and could cry with her as I shared in her emotions.  I sent out facebook reminders to a group of youthworkers we are working with to remind them about training next week.  I also sat down with my family, talked, shared breakfast and laughed together.

Yesterday I met a guy who I heard on a podcast about a year ago.  He was sharing in a meeting about a vision his wife had that matched perfectly something God had showed me.  He asked me to facebook her and so I did and was able to share the encouragement of her prayer and vision and for her to know how perfect it was.  She is someone I have never met, very well may never meet.  I have ‘bonded’ with her over facebook.  I have been inconvienienced by my friends through social media and technology, seriously has no one ever messaged you and asked you to do something?  In fact many of my relationships are held together, deepened, strengthened by technology.

IT IS NOT SUCH AN EVIL!  Oh I must fast facebook because it takes too much of my time, no it’s my choice how much time it takes, I just need to learn to be more self disciplined.  Before facebook it was too much tv, before tv it was probably embroidery or something….  there has always been things that take our focus, take our time.  That is life.  A balance. 

I will not fast facebook or technology because I THINK IT IS WONDERFUL!  It is INCREDIBLE, AMAZING and i am sooooooo grateful for all the people who are my ‘friends’ real and cyber world, who link with me and share my life and if you are reading this you are one of them!!! 

Move on, catch up and don’t be so culturally closed that you don’t see this incredible tool for the world to communicate and stay connected.  Not all of us have the option to nip to Starbucks to share a latte, but next time I’m in your country, inbox me or SMS me and I’ll be sure to meet you for a drink.

 

One thought on “Giving Up Technology…

  1. Lucie you are ace!! Brought a year to my eye. Glad you have a blessed time, and goes to show when we are obedient it’s worth it!! X

Leave a Reply

